What size Bream worth taking home?

Come here to discuss fishing for all types of panfish and catfish. We also want to hear your favorite fish recipes too!

Moderators: sumtershoaliefan, kokosing lover

What size Bream worth taking home?

Postby terryg » Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:54 pm

I'm fairly new to fishing for Bream and was wondering what size you all consider worth taking home? My wife is Asian (Philippines), doesn't like them filleted (if there's no head, its not a real fish!) and according to her, any size is good enough :D

Terry
terryg
Turtle on a Log

Postby waderjon » Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:03 pm

She is right Terry...Just about any size is good but I generally
dont keep the really small ones...Fried up nice and crispy..
Aint nothing like it...
If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles. ~Doug Larson
waderjon
Green and Gold Thigh

Postby Blackwater » Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:24 pm

I keep and cook them all. You eat a bean? So if they are as big as a bean then they are ok. I think the smaller the better. When they are small enough to eat the whole thing minus head scales & entrails then thats my favorite
"Buzzards gotta eat, same as worms." Josey Wales

"But hey Pappy, they integrated!'" Jr to Pappy O''Daniel
Blackwater
Green and Gold Thigh

Postby AltamahaJones » Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:35 pm

Terry, I do love to catch the biggun's 8-10 inches, but the smaller ones are great for eating especially if you are not fileting them. If I'm fishing for supper I'll keep the 5-8 inch fish and release the bigger ones. Lately I've been having a hard time even catch those. Mrs Jones asked me to bring home a mess last Sat and I was happy to give it my best shot. I had a pretty good day the day before but what I caught Sat I would have needed to pen them up and fatten them up.
AltamahaJones
2 Pound Mountain Redeye

Postby terryg » Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:25 pm